Skip to content
January 6, 2010 / Joe Osborne

Coffee Talk: I’m Really Going To This Year, I Swear

Welcome to Geekadelphia’s (usually) weekly discussion column, Cofffee Talk, where we talk about the finer issues and topics concerning video games, technology and all the other things you can’t talk about with your slightly-less-geeky friends. Have a question for us or a suggestion for a discussion topic? Send an email to geekadelphia@gmail.com or tweet with us. Follow me on Twitter if you’d like to keep this week’s discussion alive.

Say hello to the turn of the decade, ladies and gentlemen. Yes, 2010 is upon us and what better time to discuss what we’ve resolved to accomplish this year. While I have given up video games for 40 days and 40 nights before for Lent (I was a practicing Catholic at one time, you know), I’ve never been one to keep New Year’s resolutions. However, this year is going to be different. I promise.

The reason I’m so confident is because I chose a resolution that won’t be terribly difficult to keep: play more games. Wondering why I, one of Geekadelphia’s resident gamers, didn’t write up a “Best of 2009” list? I simply couldn’t fit them in aside from a few reviews (insert litany of excuses here), but this year — this year is going to be different. I swear.

I’m cutting back on the World of Warcraft to one night of raiding a week (gasp!) and I’ll be spending the ridiculous $85 for Nintendo to fix my broken Wii. Also, I hope to have a beefier PC and/or a current generation HD console by the summer time. It almost goes without saying that I am painfully behind this time around.

Now that you all know what I plan to accomplish in order to start another decade of gaming off with a bang, what will you be striving towards? While this is a site dedicated to all things geeky, feel free to disclose some less-than-dweebish resolutions like, I don’t know, getting a bit more sun? Share your resolutions with the rest of Philadelphia’s geeks for some surefire accountability!

Leave a Reply

